Hello Blackbird

It's about time I stopped calling my backdoor blackbird "Baby Blackie." It no longer has any trace of its yellow gape. It's a juvenile now, looking speckled, very much like a mature female but roufous not brown. It pokes around quite happily while I'm dealing with the laundry and constantly retrieving Jazzy's ball from my machines.

My mind wanders and quite often MrQ's Jazz lyrics and titles pop into my head. After reading of the roufous feathers I thought of Whistling Rufus, he plays this jazz standard as a feature on his baritone sax regularly. Then I thought of Rufus Wainwright, who I love. Rufus sang Bewitched beautifully on the soundtrack of The History Boys. The Boys sang Bye Bye Blackbird at Hector's memorial service. One usually hears only the chorus sang jauntily. It's actually a sad song about unhappiness and gloomy times. The vocalist in MrQ's band always asks them to play it slowly. 

I don't want to say bye-bye to my blackbird. We love it. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.