When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

The First Commute

Today, I finally got around to leaving our new 'hood' in Newcross and tackled my first commute across town to Holborn Studios. It was the first day of my Capture One Certified Expert course at Holborn Studios. 

It's going to take some adjustment to get my head around the scale of London. Thankfully, modern technology comes to the rescue. There's a really clever app called City Mapper that gives you all the options, plus times and prices. 

From my point of view, there was no 'cheap' option. The best one was still just under £6 there and back. I'm hesitant about getting a travel card till I know I'll use it enough. But the route at least, was fairly straight forward, from Newcross overground to Hoxton. There was still quite a walk from there to Holborn, but it helped me get my bearings a bit so it was ok.

The course was a bit of a brain buster. A lot of power points. A lot of information. A fair few of the people on it had obviously been working with Capture One for a while, so I felt a bit behind the curve. But I think I got the gist.

The best bit was getting to play with lots of cameras I couldn't otherwise afford. Like the Phase One XF and some wicked technical cameras like the Cambo, with a Rodenstock lens. Serious gear envy. 

This evening we sat outside till gone ten in a t-shirt. Such warm. Much wow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.