The Windy Night

( a poem for two voices) by Vivienne Joseph

'Who's that tap-tapping at my window?
'It is I, the flax, you hear a-tapping.

'Are those claws I hear - or bony paws?
'Just branches child, twigs and leaves.

'And that sigh ------ so like a moan and cold as dawn.
'It is the wind's voice calling to the moon.

'Who licks its teeth, one by one, with a red, red tongue?
'Why, Grandma's moonlight cat does that.

'Whose eyes so bright chip diamonds from the night?
'The stars that's all, my child, and Grandma's cat.

'Who's there?' I whisper. 'Who's there?'
'We are here, so sleep now, sleep.'

A wild wet windy night tonight, I caught my neighbours palm leaves being jostled by the wind earlier in the day and quite liked the effect with a little processing and a conversion to mono.

A very busy day, my eyes feel like they're hanging out of my head, bed-time soon, I badly need some rest.

'So sleep now, sleep'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.