Christine

I met two very beautiful women in Market Square today. I first saw them from behind, attracted by their hair, sitting on the very bench I blipped a couple of days ago. I circled around to introduce myself and realised that I'd actually photographed Christine before, although I don't think she remembered me. 

When I come across a striking face my first thought is to work out the best place for the light and a good backdrop. Both Christine here and Joy, her grand-daughter, were wearing red and I knew immediately where I wanted them. It didn't take much persuasion to get them to come across with me and stand in the entrance to William Hills, the bookmakers! I have the confidence to do this kind of thing now.

It was hard to choose between mono and colour, and between the two women, both so spirited and so strong. In the end, this shot of the grandmother got the nod. I love them all but I think this is one of my favourite ever portraits. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.