Everyone is doing it

Seen more blips of post boxes from other people in the last two weeks than in the six months since I started my intermittent collection of them. Of course it's because of the genius idea to paint a box gold for every Team GB Olympic gold medal winner. A brilliant idea to spread the Olympic excitement around the country. These are the two Sir Chris Hoy boxes in central Edinburgh. (Is it just me but was his knighthood premature? Should sportspeople's honours wait until they retire? Or at least knighthoods/damehoods.) On the left the one that was painted today after his Keirin win last night, while the one on the right has been gold a few days longer since his win as part of the sprint team. Whether it's because it's been there for longer, or because it is just off Princes Street, that one seemed more popular this afternoon. To be fair, the other one, on Hunter Square just off the Royal Mile, was in the midst of a street performer's crowd. He was just warming them up and made some remarks about his juggling axes flying in the direction of 'the man with the camera', which was me. I hadn't really been paying hi any attention, looking to get a shot of postbox and crowd and as I moved to get a slightly different angle he made some crack about hiding behind two women. I just ignored him and took my picture and then moved on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.