Snow-Capped Japonica

After an uncomfortable night, with all my aches and pains from yesterday I awoke to no electricity and several centimetres of snow on the ground. The snow had come into the veranda and wet my wood, but I had dry kindling in a cupboard and I soon had the fire going. This was a real comfort on such a wild day that brought snow, sleet, hail, rain, thunder and lightening, with a cold sou’easterly straight from Antarctica blowing small branches from the trees.

The power didn’t come on until after 2pm, but my stove kept me going with hot food and drink. Poor little Ladyship simply stayed in bed all day. She has improved to the point where she is alert, and going for walks outside, but it was too cold and wet today.

Snow in September is not unusual here. Now, when blossoms and leaves have opened for spring we will get some bad frosts. I hope the weather improves overnight, as my son has planned a grand adventure for me tomorrow.

Extra shot: my poor daffodils!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.