Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Merino Amongst the Willows

We woke to a scene that made us feel like we were living in a snow globe; snow blowing, up down, left, right - we were static in a whirling mass of weather. So much for winter being behind us.

After crossing off a few items from the to-do list, I decided to head up the Valley to see what I could shoot. After my surgery, I wasn't really up for getting out and about but as I'm now walking unaided, I thought this might be the last chance to sample winter.

Conditions over the saddle between Peel Forest and the Rangitata valley were rough - strong winds blowing snow across the road and a wind chill approaching negative double digits. Ironically, things improved as I got further towards the mountains.

Eventually I decided to park up by an angler's access about half way up the valley, the path to the river winding down amongst the willows. Before I set up my shot I had one priority - to right a cast merino ewe that was struggling to get up on its feet in the cold wind, her energy almost sapped. Had I not lifted her up, she may well have perished in her exposed position. Luckily, she trotted off to catch up with the rest of the mob, shown in the photo, lucky that her Fuji-toting rescuer was there at just the right time.

In the extras, you'll see the view from the saddle as the grader cleared the snow from the road on my way home to the warmth of the fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.