Pax Romana..

although there wasn't too much of that around in Britannia I think.   Actually, I am going to say nothing more about these matters - a friend of mine (and yes she will more than likely read this) is a highly respected archaeologist whose expertise is in the Roman frontiers of Britain.   And I could easily get it all wrong! 

Suffice it to say that today on Hadrian's Wall (note, please, not the ultimate frontier for ever) I felt like my brother-in-law from New Zealand.   When he visits the UK he goes around touching stones reverently.   NZ has a very short connection with European history, and he finds it hard to assimilate the mind-blowing antiquity.   Today I wanted to touch stone.

Extra:  The bridge over the Tyne at Corbridge.   In the great flooding of 1771, this was the only crossing left between the source and the mouth of the Tyne.   The bridge dates from 1674.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.