Connecticut River

I took Amtrak's Vermonter at 11:33 today from Penn Station in NYC back to Northampton--four hours and twenty minutes.  This is a view north from a bridge in Holyoke, Mass.--the last stop before Northampton.  The stop in Northampton is new, and it's only the second time I've taken the train.  The journey is long--the electric engine has to be replaced by a diesel in New Haven, and the stop in Springfield an hour later is awkward--the station is on an east-west spur (the train must  turn into it and back out again). But it works, and it saves having to drive (on the trip down I was driven by a friend--a real luxury :)

Next day edit:  I can't resist adding the extra--captured through my window at the platform in Bridgeport: "Study in Yellows"

 I've marked the map at what must be the bridge we were crossing. It's clear from the map that the area is highly settled, but the banks of the river are very wooded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.