Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Question for Emmy Noether

Woke up to sunshine today… had a lovely row and as I was coming back to the dock I see a motor boat there that I don’t know.   eek!   I thought we were done with visitors!  Well it was an old colleague of H’s who has been here in the long ago past wanting to show his family this place.   So they had a tour and were on their way .. but the woman was an artist and I could barely get her out of the studio. 
More putting stuff away. 
Then I thought I’d try to blip one of the projects that I’ve been trying to finish - a book illustrating the poem of my good friend N who was here in Seattle in June and we had such a great time thinking of ideas for writing/book projects.  It’s so hard to take one picture of a book…so I know this is confusing but I wanted a design of the elements… Emmy Noether ((Amelie “Emmy” Noether) born in 1882 and died in1935 was a German scientist.  There is a tile for her on the  "heritage floor” of Judy Chicago’s Dinner Party work from 1979 that toured the country in the 80s and is now in the Brooklyn museum.  I'd never heard of Emmy Noether til I saw this piece in Brooklyn with N who was interested in writing about her. The book is accordion shaped 6" squares covered with Gelli prints of number stencils. 
OH I think you might  need/like  the poem:    :-)  by my long time friend, Nancy Hagen Patchen.

Emmy, is it fair you’re known only
by one image, formal pose in prim white blouse,
in higher math books
while Albert’s visage, sad-eyed and disheveled,
multiplies on tchotchkes to infinity?

After all, your Noether’s Theorem unraveled
the WHY of Laws of Nature
(relation of time and energy)
while Einstein’s Theory of Relativity only
explained the HOW.

Patriarchy of your time had held you back,
a problem you solved with your focused
will, zest for study, unfailing smile until you got
that PhD.

How you let loose your fevered brilliance on
abstract algebra, topology, number fields, ideals in rings!
How you chilled them to boggling theories, ice floes
mathematicians still skate on!

A centrifuge in your classroom, you spun
dialogues with Noether’s Boys, (children
you never had)
excitedly pulled hankies from your blouse, shook
out those hair pins
poured your passion into numbers, (lovers
you never knew),
laughed at real world danger when Boys
sat before you in Hitler’s brownshirts.

It’s true when Nazi boots came for you in 1933
Albert, your fellow German Jew, got you to America,
A Bryn Mawr professorship, praised your genius
in the New York Times when you died
two short years later.


Still…




then I have to put Fiona in the extra--the last grandchild ,  toothless, (it came out the day after she was here, of course)  very excited on the first day of 1st grade with new Star Wars crocs.  Sent by her Mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.