HERITAGE OPEN DAY

Its Heritage Opens Days time again so after perusing the brochure I decided to pay a visit to St Matthew's Church in Newcastle. It is considered by many to be one of the finest Victorian churches in the North East - a glorious example of Victorian Gothic revival. There was a notice on the door saying that if you wanted to take photos you needed the permission of a steward.  So I sought out a steward.  Signed a form to say I would not sell any of my photos and if they went on social media the name of the church had to be mentioned - no problem there.

As I was taking photos the stewards decided to put all the lights on.  Nice of them but in places the lights were too bright.  Couldn't be helped.  I had a good wander around and took quite a few photos - many of them were " duds ".  In my collage you can see- top left - The Triptych, top right - one of the stained glass windows and the stone alter piece which is a memorial to the architect, bottom left - the organ which was bought in the 1980's from a church in Cheshire that was slowly sinking into a salt mine and bottom right a view across the pews.

After looking round the church I made my way back into the centre of town.  The route took me down Westgate Road - famous for the number of motor cycle shops it contains.  There is also an assortment of betting shops, takeways and cafes. Its a meeting place for bikers as you can see in my extras.  I have also added a shot of Westgate Hall Buildings which stands on the top of the hill. Built in 1900 as a Wesleyan Mission Hall.  It seems to be derelict at the moment.

Once in town I had a mooch around the charity shops - didn't get anything.  Then I headed for M & S.  I had been sent an e mail yesterday to tell me that a free coffee had been " loaded " on to my Sparks card. ( second free coffee of the week ) I chose cappuccino made with soya milk.  No cake this time but it came with a tiny biscuit.  Shirley from slimming club was there at the same time so we sat together and had a long chat while we enjoyed our coffee.  It was nice to have her company.  She is 83 years old and very sprightly.  She was off to Primark next.  I went to Tesco for salmon and fruit before I came home.

Yesterday when I was in Sunderland I found a Students travel pass.  The cost of it was shown as £70 and it was valid until the end of September.  So quite a lot of money to lose.  So when I came home I did  a bit of detective work.  First port of call - Facebook.  I found the young lady quite quickly.  However I couldn't message her as Facebook wouldn't allow it.  Quite right too - a young girl wouldn't want any Tom, Dick or Harry messaging her.  So I was a bit stumped.  However I noticed an older man on one of her photos was " tagged ".  He had the same surname as the girl on the travel pass.  So I messaged him.  He got back to me this morning.  It was his daughter's pass I had found and he told me the address so I can return it to her.  He offered to pay the postage - I told him it didn't matter - my good deed for the day.  The girl also e mailed to say how grateful she was I had made contact.  Its nice when things turn out well.

Steps today - 11,605

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.