Dahlias and Bees!

Today was photograph a dahlia get a bee or two free! Sister had a mooch round Tavistock whilst I saw Dental Hygienist – she was most pleased with how my gums were looking! Since I have umpteen different brushes to reach all areas I was pleased my efforts and time was yielding results! Since I was obviously being such a girl she showed me her holiday photos from a trip in a friends boat to the Isles of Scilly! For 20 mins they were followed by a shoal of dolphins – she had a video of that – breathtaking! So after picking up sister we headed to The Garden House, we went there every time my parents visited so it’s a bit of a tradition. We heard a coach party was arriving so headed straight for lunch! 
Our favourite part is the walled garden with its long, deep borders so that’s where we headed. My Dahlia’s have grown into healthy plants this summer but several are still to flower, but those in the borders were at their peak. Vibrant drifts of colour everywhere and whatever flower I trained my camera on a bee was soon to land on it! Of other interest was a white stemmed rose – never seen one like it before, at first I thought it was a tree with thorns it was so large! The other was the trees with the peeling bark being caught by the afternoon sun – sister also caught me! 
On the way home we stopped to get a photo of sheep, sister is making dry felted animals at the moment, and a crochet quilt and she bought more sock wool! So she wanted a sheep photo! I found a spot with sheep, horses and an Ice cream van! So we had an ice cream and watched a little boy trying to entice a foal to him. Meanwhile the foals mum came up to our car and tried to poke it’s head in to get to sister’s ice cream! She likes animals but not getting up close and personal with them! She takes after our dad. I however take after our Grandpa and the closer the better! So I got out and fed it the cone of mine! I had forgotten how lovely it is to have a horse feed from your palm and to stroke its beautiful strong face! 
Next stop Morrisons for some crab which sister would have had in a sandwich at The House but we went for a big lunch instead. Ended up buying some plants – a £1 whopping big Gerbera, reduced because it had a few brown leaves and dead flowers, but I knew it would look great once these were removed and would flower again – sure enough when I peered between the leaves there were 7 new buds being formed! We also got 2 trugs of pansies for £3!!! Next stop the farmers shop for chicken food and finally recycling, where I picked up a large painting as I wanted the frame for Vegan Jo’s and Colourful Mai’s 5oth Birthday bash in October – I am doing a photo booth! 
Finally, home for crab sandwiches and Pasteis de Nata we also found in Morrisons! I call that a good day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.