Stretching the circle

Open Doors Weekend: an opportunity to see inside the Blavatnik School of Government after having been refused entry a few months ago. I completely love it. It's mostly circles which, from different points of view, metamorphose into all sorts of other shapes. I was in there for two hours (lots of extras).

That left little time for anywhere else but I did go to Zaha Hadid's extension to St Antony's College. I've seen the outside before and been a bit nonplussed but I went in intending to like it. The college was full of staff and students raving about it but, oh dear... trying too hard? After the beautiful forms created from simplicity at the School of Government much of it felt too fussy and self-conscious, despite the clever ways of getting light into interior spaces. A disappointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.