I went back

I was fascinated that sjb's picture yesterday of the Serpentine Pavilion in the rain showed more detail than my higher contrast picture taken on Thursday in bright sun. It made me wonder when muted light is more effective.

So this morning I decided to see how much difference today's sun would make to the Blavatnik School of Government building where I took lots of pictures yesterday in relentless heavy rain.

Not much, it turned out, and my ISO, f-stop and shutter speed are almost identical to yesterday's. Despite all the light wells, little direct light came into the building itself. Occasionally a small ellipse of sunlight appeared but there was barely any change in contrast overall and there were no sharp shadows to play with.

(The difference in tone from yesterday is to do with me changing the white balance setting in the camera.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.