Persistent

Ever since I wrote about this fellow here last week, I have been trying to catch him at it when he comes at all times of day with acorns to 'hide' in the palm trees just outside our bedroom windows. I had him in my sights with an acorn  in his beak, but there are screens on the windows and the camera kept focusing on them. I finally got this not very good shot of him by teetering on a chair which got me above the screen but still shooting through the dirty window. I know he will be back, and it is amusing to watch him surveying the scene, looking up and down the trunk of the tree for suitable spots, pecking a bit here and there, but I am getting tired of stalking him.

It was nice to resume our Spring Lake/Aztek Mocha Saturday morning routine after the madness of the last couple of days. I had a fine view of a pileated woodpecker at Spring Lake but the light just wasn't right. They are big birds…glad we don't have them pecking on the house. I came home and made several batches of basil pesto and one of roasted red pepper. There is a nice feeling of satisfaction of accumulating the stores for winter made from our own garden produce.  I try my best to convince myself that it will taste much better than the same product purchased at the supermarket for a fraction of the cost of growing it. and the time making it..

I will try to get caught up on comments before we leave in a week for a trip to the Canadian Rockies where there will no doubt be no shortage of blips .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.