Prepared for Anything

This young woman was standing in front of me at Peet's. I couldn't help thinking that we had both left home this morning prepared for something else. She was clad in jeans and flip flops with everything she needed for a wedding, or a night on the town. I was dressed for court, or as best I could manage since my days of owning a power suit are long over, with flip flops and shorts in the car. I wonder how OilMan's Pliny beer tee shirt and grubby jeans went over as he sat, the only person in the courtroom spectator seats.

Appearing in court is just surreal. OilMan said I was calm and composed and did well before the judge, four attorneys and the two appellants. I felt nervous and frustrated. So many people, so much money, time and energy, such animosity: And overall I just feel sorry for the children. It has been an odyssey I don't exactly regret, but am very happy to have put behind me. As we were sitting there waiting for the judge, I swear I heard one of the attorneys mumble, "welcome to the trial that just won't end..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.