Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Mono Monday……Traditional…...

…….so, as is traditional for me, I took the picture first and only THEN looked up this weeks theme…..and I was stumped! Consequently, I rang my Ma (the way you traditionally do when you know you're in deep trouble….or you need a note to get you off games!) and when I asked her how she would link the words 'fern' and 'traditional' she came up with this, and, it has to be said, without a second of hesitation (not bad for 91!)……she reminded me how the traditional Haltwhistle Sunday evening walk (this was long before the age of TV) was always 'up the burn' where there were ferns at the side of every path. And y'know as soon as she said it I could remember/picture it too, even though I was only about 4 when we moved away…….

NB…..I hasten to add that these particular ferns AREN'T up the burn at Haltwhistle, they're some of their seaside cousins at Whitley Bay and they still exchange Christmas cards! (but I've put Haltwhistle Burn 'on the map' for reference)

In other news : I've just signed up to take part in a (Lancaster University) research project looking into the possible benefits of the 'a-photo-a-day' concept when it comes to general well-being (spotted on the Blipfoto Friends FaceBook page)……it looks interesting, and requires nothing more onerous than blipping as usual……contact details here if you fancy signing up too…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.