West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

A (mono monday) traditional Mongolian clarinet?

I went to the Mongolian national theatre museum today. They had photos and costumes from early Mongolian theatre but unfortunately most of the information was only in Mongolian. The best bit of the museum was the section of traditional musical instruments.

My eye was immediately drawn to this fascinating looking clarinet-like instrument. I took a photo of the information about it and asked the manager of the hostel to translate it for me. It's made of wood and horn and it's from the northern region of Mongolia. He told me what it's called but I don't remember.

And they must have decided to put the mouthpiece on back to front so the reed can be seen because it'd be impossible to play like that. I wanted to get it out of the display and have a go at playing it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.