Stormbound

17.1C with the SSE wind continuing through the night at up to 40 mph with gusts to 54 mph until noon then beginning to subside with wind to 28 mph with gusts to 38 mph through the afternoon. The morning was dull but dry, the rain arriving early afternoon as the wind began to drop.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a  repeat of the morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Van Morrison (Avalon Sunset) then Jethro Tull (Broadsword and the Beast) on the Clip. I went round to the harbour and had a wander round the old quay. There were lots of boats tied up at the quays. The ferry, which came in some time yesterday, was still at the terminal. Stormbound. Its sailings on the Ardrossan/Brodick (Arran) route have been cancelled for today.

I went along by the ferry terminal and followed the shore side of the park and on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill. I thought that was far enough today if I was going to get home before the forecast rain, so I turned and came back.

I came back along the street side of the park and came back home through town. The rain started when I had a few hundred yards to go and has been quite heavy since.

Afternoon music ... Meat Loaf, Bat out of Hell. Queen, A Kind of Magic.

E-PL5 f/10 1/400 sec. ISO-200 18mm

Note: For Mono Monday ... a CalMac ferry, you don't get much more traditional in West Scotland :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.