Davaar Island and Arran from the Doirlinn

15.3C with long sunny spells. More cloud in the afternoon but still plenty of brightness and sunny spells. Light NW/WNW breeze.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a  repeat of the morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Big Country (Through a Big Country) then Rod Stewart (Atlantic Crossing) on the Clip. I went round by Aquilibrium and past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park then on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill and along to the Doirlinn. I liked the way the light was on Davaar island so instead of walking round the road I crossed the Doirlinn to the beacon for a change. I enjoy the feeling of being right out in the middle of the loch.

There were one or two people walking out to the island and a Land Rover came back across the Doirlinn to the road. I hadn't seen any vehicles out on the island before. The tide was quite far out and wouldn't be at its lowest until 4pm.

I came back along the street side of the park and came back home past the town hall and the bookshop (which was open today).

There were quite a few Guillemots in the harbour today, swimming along and diving. I could see them under water flying along which was really good to see. Where a burn runs into the sea halfway along the park there were a dozen or so what I think were Redshank having a bath in the fresh water.

Afternoon music ... Queen, Sheer Heart Attack. Runrig, Mara.

E-PL5 f/10 1/500 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Extra: A Land Rover on the Doirlinn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.