Third_eye

By Third_eye

Oh My ... That's big

The newest container ship to visit the UK, the 198,000-ton MSC Reef, was built this year (2016) and can carry a maximum of 19,437 twenty-foot containers.

It arrived at Felixstowe (Suffolk) on Sunday from Algeciras on its premier voyage and had nearly completed preparation for the next leg of its journey, Antwerp, when I saw it there yesterday, purely by chance - on my unexpected second day out in less than a week!

It was an even greater coincidence that the Harwich-to-Felixstowe Foot and Bicycle Ferry, MV Explorer 12, probably the smallest commercial vessel in the harbour, with a capacity of just 12 passengers, passed conveniently close and I was able to photograph them both together.

That's what I call a lucky shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.