Judith's photos

By Judith

A view of two halves!

My next move in this game of human chess that is being in hospital has the side-effect of ever-changing views. This is the best one yet! You can just make out Beckford's Tower* on the skyline. It is definitely is a view of two halves though!

I had my angiogram done this morning, which I suppose wasn't too bad. I has a little sedation to keep me relaxed, and a local anaesthetic in the wrist they used for access. And finally some good news - my arteries are NOT clogged, nor do I have coronary heart disease, so I don't need a stent or bypass operation! I will need further tests to determine the cause of the heart attack but it seems that it's either cardiomyopathy (note to self: Google this) or "an adrenaline-driven event" (ie stress - that's what my money's on). So the treatment is the battery of drugs I've been on since my arrival by emergency ambulance a week ago.

And I was given the all-clear to go home! However, in the end, I'm staying an extra night... I've been on a pretty hefty dose of warfarin to thin the blood, and so my wrist was looking like something out of a horror film! (UPDATE: now added as an 'extra'.) The doctor was concerned enough to do more blood tests including full cross-matching in case I needed an urgent top-up, my wrist stayed under a high pressure band (made of hard plastic that they can pump air into), and I'm staying here for another night. Hopefully I'll be home tomorrow - assuming that I don't bleed like a stuck pig when they take the canula out of my other wrist!

*Beckford's Tower was restored and the top was re-coated in gold leaf at great expense, but it looks stunning in the evening light, and with a hot air balloon floating over, looked stunning. But because of my wrist, I couldn't hold the iPad or even my phone steady enough to take a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.