Decrescendo

A full day in which I was well helped by my registrar. The feel good story was given by a young man who is recovering from a severe manic episode which has resolved well with lithium. Enough that I gave him leave yesterday, to return today for a discharge meeting. Last evening, in the central city, he responded to pleas for help from some homeless persons whose friend had been assaulted (after others had apparently passed by), called the ambulance for them as they had no mobile phones, and then performed CPR for 10 minutes until the paramedics arrived and took over. That the attempted resuscitation was unsuccessful does not negate what was described by one of our nurses as the actions of one with a caring soul.

On my way home at the end of this busy day, I saw starlings flying in to land on the wires above. After I took this photo, I became aware that the starlings were only pausing on the wires before heading downward to the grass below where they began busily seeking food.

I hadn't been back in the apartment long when I caught sight of small birds in the crucifix orchids on the deck. I moved to pick up the camera, and they fled, not to return. In case they did return I organised the focus, and liked the effect. Sans birds, my photo is the extra for today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.