The Big House

I wrote my sister an email yesterday and told her I was writing from the "big house" so I could easily grab the wireless internet. She wrote back with an email with the title, "My sister is in the big house"!! Kathy explained how she was glad I was writing from Steve's family home and not prison, hee hee!

The above photo shows what everyone in the family calls the big house. The "drive shed" is to the left of it. The cottage that Steven's dad built (where we are staying -it also has a bunkhouse) is further to the left. To the right is his cousin's Hobie Cat - a Catamaran sailboat in the water that gets used quite a bit. The boat house is right next to it, the huge dock in front. Up the hill to the right is the Farrel's cottage (Aunt Mary's family) and next to that the A.S. Deming's cottage that belongs to the family of Steven'd dad's twin brother, Archie.

The water here is crystal clear and so beautiful, I've been swimming in it! The skies are what I call "canada skies" - huge with lots of clouds. Although, today it is cloudy and grey with small whitecaps on the water because of the north wind. Yesterday we had a great trip via Chelsea to visit Horseshoe Island and friends that make the island their summer home -not far from wolfe island. Chuck Corrigan who we visited is Canadian and I got a good dose of a wonderful Canadian accent and Chuck's traditional welcome -a toast of a shot of Sambucca mixed with a bit of coffee bean ground up!

till next time . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.