Keighley

It's been another tiring, hot and muggy day to be out doing things.  We had hair appointments this morning then I caught the bus in to Keighley to drop off some new twiddlemuffs for the Dementia Society.  I had decided to get my exercise for the day by walking home, about three miles.  Not a good decision as by the time I had gained the moor I was dripping and very glad that I had picked up a bottle of water in the town before I set off.   I stopped at this blippoint to take that water out of my rucksack.  You can see an old quarry in front of me and Keighley in the Aire Valley in the haze which has persisted throughout the day.

Back home it was time for a serious rehydrate before the stonemen arrived with three tons of rocks for the allotment which had to be carried down the ginnel and tossed over the wall into the allotment.  A kind neighbour stepped up to the mark to help which meant I could position myself in the allotment and pile up the stone while the guys did the carrying.  I think we had all lost a few pounds in weight when the couple of hours were up!  I suggested to Tony that we eat out as we were both too shattered and hot to cook, so we drove in to Bingley and ate at the restaurant which used to be La Strada, then Orchid and is now Galo's Kitchen.  Good welcome and service and the food (salmon and duck) was tasty, apart from the lemon tart which we will avoid in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.