Kitrushing

By Kitrushing

Visitor to the back porch

I'm trying to learn the types of feathered visitors to my back porch feeder, and I'm only having partial success--the downy wood pecker, house finch, mourning dove... but I'm having trouble precisely identifying tonight's visitor. He and his friends come often. They drop by in the morning for a snack and conversation, then again in the afternoon, and of course in the evening as the sun fades. I think they are of the sparrow family, but which part. That I don't know, for certain. I have books with pictures of similar creatures, but none of this picture seem to match exactly the coloration and feather design.

I'll keep searching. The quest is fun.

Shooting through the window screen is not efficient. I'll someday try to rig a camera on a tripod with a long lens cable. Someday.

peace, light, and keep smilin'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.