In Grateful Memory

Today commemorates the 100th anniversary of the Battle Somme on the Western Front of France. 

When I was growing up we usually had a Sunday afternoon drive. If the drive included the Domain and Auckland War Memorial Museum, Dad would slowly drive around the museum and read out the names of battles from WW1 and WW2 etched into the building.

One name that fascinated me was The Somme. I remember staring up at the stone wall and wondering what war is like. Thank God I don't know.

I knew I had a Grandfather who went to WW1. He served at The Somme and Passchendaele. I can't begin to imagine it.

Granddad Boo returned to New Zealand, unlike the 42 young men/boys listed on the restored stone and steel memorial gates at my local park.

In grateful memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.