Uneventful

It must be quite unusual in the old town of Edinburgh to find a building which proclaims to have no history, at least not in 1897.
It rang a bell with me this morning. Although my building has had an exciting past life, and had plenty happening in 1897, there was not much happening within the walls of the Dower House today.

His Lordship is suffering from an excess of activity during the last four days, and I from having eaten too many plums yesterday. With a normally iron digestion, I don't often get a sore stomach, but the over indulgence of not only plums but peaches too, have caught it unawares.
Nevertheless we had a stroll in the sun down Candlemaker Row where I saw this plaque and then a stop at the fairly new Grassmarket café to have a soothing hot chocolate.

It might just be warm enough to sit outside this afternoon and read the biography of David Millar, the once disgraced British Tour cyclist who suffered a doping ban of two years in 2004 but who redeemed himself and raced clean afterwards. He came to my attention as a good commentator on the recent Spanish Vuelta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.