That line between

Of the very many pictures I took at Tate Modern today (more in extras) this gets the slot because Abstract Thursday happens to be about squares in architecture (thanks youoregon). And because of Georgia O'Keeffe.

On the heavy, sulky last day of summer my mum and I went to see the Georgia O'Keeffe exhibition at Tate Modern. I had no idea. I thought she was about flowers but what a magnificent line she trod between abstract and representational. She did extraordinary things with architecture and landscape as well as with flowers. One of those rare exhibitions that opens up your brain and blows oxygen through.

Then to Terence Rattigan's Deep Blue Sea at the National Theatre. What a compassionate and deeply sad play about mismatched and lost loves. It's so rare to see fictional characters drawn in such a way that you believe in and feel for them all, despite those many human flaws that we are each randomly assigned. How lucky I was to get the last two seats when I booked a fortnight ago.

A fabulous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.