briocarioca

By briocarioca

Blurry orchid

I can't get the focal length right on my flower shots - must do something about it.

The cold water started to run out as I washed up after a very enjoyable dinner party here last night, so I turned on the pump. Later, dishes washed and kitchen tidy, I heard running water as I plodded upstairs and found the tap in the attic bathroom running full blast, coming out as fast as it had gone in. Tried to turn it off and it came away in my hand. Oops. Attempts to screw it back on having failed, I called HH, at which point M came out of her room and jumped a mile at the sight of us. HH having been no more successful than I was, we eventually woke handyman Ronaldo, who had been in bed just long enough to drift off. To cut a long, wet story short, he worked another of his miracles and solved the problem temporarily and we all got to bed around 1.45 (so this qualifies for today’s blip).
 
Painful knees, worrying about how to solve the current problems and what might go wrong next robbed me of my sleep, but luckily Ronaldo was around today and by degrees we got most things sorted. There is still a little problem with the lights…..

We had tickets for the Paralympic dressage event, but after roasting in the heat there on Tuesday, a drains disaster on Wednesday, the dinner party yesterday and then the water drama, we didn’t feel like facing the two hour journey in each direction to watch admirable performances that we don’t really understand. Watched a little on the box, but the wretched program cut to the swimming after the first set of the men’s tennis final, Gordon Reid vs Alfie Hewitt. Having watched (on TV at the British House) Alfie’s emotion on winning his semi-final match, we had to root for him, but it did look as if Gordon had the upper hand and I’ve just checked that he had an easy win. But great job by both of them, a gold and a silver for Gordon and two silver’s for Alfie. Go Team GB!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.