What are we doing in Bristol?

"I missed my exit and I'm afraid I'm lost," says Mr PP.
Me: "That's not like you."
"No, I got distracted - and it's years since I came to Bristol - if I can find Parkway station, I'll be fine."
.
.
.
"Look, I need the loo, so I'll pop into the station, and I might ask someone for directions while I'm there. Do you mind staying in the car cos we're not really supposed to park here ..."

At last, back comes Mr PP - but there's a young woman with him .... hang on: IT'S OUR DAUGHTER!

"What are you doing here? Are you coming with us?"
"Yes, thought I'd surprise you."
.
.
.
Me grinning away in disbelief - still thinking we're heading to other relatives in Weston. (Bear in mind, I have no sense of direction.)
Suddenly, we're in a residential street, and pulling up.
"Oh, look at those lights!" says Daughter. "That's Bristol all lit up - I'm going to look ..." she tells her blipping mother.
"Ooh, I'll bring my camera ..."
.
.
.
Her pa gives us a call. I head back to the car, but Mr PP is going down a garden path and someone's opening the front door ... Who's inviting us in? Only OUR SON!!!

Me: "This gets more and more surreal!"

Bottom line: we're staying in a rented house for two nights in celebration of our wedding anniversary (next week). They all decided to surprise me. They did. My flabber's never been so gasted! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.