a lifetime burning

By Sheol

My life on eBay

Cathy agreed to my buying myself a motorbike recently, but there was a condition attached.  I had to fund it from the sale of other "toys" rather than from our savings.  As a result I have been eBaying old "toys" like a man possessed for the last month or so.

This is a shot from the latest of my listings - my first proper road racing bike, which I bought in 2010.  It featured brakes gears and pedal cranks designed by the Italian Campagnolo company.  They make beautifully elegant items, as I think you can see from this close up of the rear brake.  

I've not ridden it in anger for about 4 years as (in the way of these things) I moved on to a faster lighter (but perhaps less pretty) bike a few years later. In the interim it has been relegated to the turbo trainer in the garage, where it has taken on the roll of torturer's apprentice.  Riding a bicycle on the road is a joy, sitting in a garage pounding away on a bike shackled to a turbo trainer is my idea of hell... and therefore not something I've done as often as I should have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.