Calf or Cow?

I noticed these adorable bovines on my way home from Tavistock. They were all chilling out  on the grass but one by one came over to me. A bit shy at first this one got very interested in my camera which can be seen in my extra! So I  got to wondering - are they calves or cows? So I found this answer:-

We normally refer to a first calf heifer at, say, twenty-four months of age or older, as just that, and after her second calf as a three-year old, she becomes a cow. 

So there!

I had taken  Vegan Jo into Tavistock for a hair appointment - thankfully a dry cut for her as with her back leaning backwards over the sink would have been impossible! I went to the market for the vintage doll I had seen with sister - not there! Stall holder not there either as it was her birthday and had a young girl covering her stall so she knew nothing! Next stop wool shop - oh dear, pattern just said 7 oz skeins and woman there had no idea what type of wool that could possibly be! Will phone sister for advice! I did get my parcel on it's way to ELLAphant!
I met up with Jo after buying one loaf of pumpkin and one of beetroot sourdough, glorious red colour, and we went for lunch! Sat outside in the sun and had a delicious goats cheese, pear and hazelnut salad with chips!!Just as we had finished Friend texted with stuff she needed, so I dashed to the nearest chemist and forgot to explain myself fully, Jo thought I was a long time in the toilet! Luckily her husband and son had turned up before I got the message and said I had gone shopping!!!
So finally home via Friends and a bit of a rest before tucking the girls into bed! I even squeezed in some TV before my bedtime! What a rare treat! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.