I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

BEEP! BEEP!

What a great way to start our round of golf! We were sitting on the first tee waiting for our turn, when Mr. Roadrunner comes across the path and then goes into the brush to pose for me!  What a nice guy he was. The coyote wasn't around with his ACME box of goodies to try to catch him. The extra is the typical pose of the roadrunner on the go!

We were out at Paiute Golf Course, just north of Las Vegas. It is owned by the Paiute Indians. There are three courses and each one has something special. 

We played the Snow Course. One of the holes on the back nine has a rather interesting study in learned behavior. Over the years, the quail have found out that the carts that stop by their area have people in them that will feed them. There are now 50-60 quail of all ages that hang out there waiting to be fed. These birds, naturally are so skittish the sound of the shutter on the camera will cause them to run. It isn't as much fun taking pictures of them like that. I am on a mission to get them in my backyard, walking along the fence, going from one feeding area to the next.

The guys finally won today, but only by one. I guess we have to let them win once in a while!

I am grateful for the game of golf that takes me to wonderful places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.