The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sittin' on the dock...

This morning dawned sunny and, for me, anxious. After doing some tree cutting and heavy haulage in the garden yesterday morning, I'd gone into town for some shopping, but had started to feel tired and low in mood. By stopping and sitting down several times on the way home, I'd dragged myself up the hill.

Once home, a tummy bug took hold and I spent the afternoon and evening suffering agonising cramps and frequent trips to the loo. Not how I'd planned to spend Saturday!

Anyway...back to this morning. My abdomen was still boiling noisily and I knew I would have to cancel the proposed visit from Steve's sister Rosie, as she wouldn't want to be at risk. So I rang, and felt a bit sad, and when I started to feel a bit more normal, I got on with some chores. The garden is reverting to Nature, but I want to restore a little space for us. Two trees down now, but we can't do anything about our neighbours on either side and their massive trees. So I hauled a few more piles of weeds around, and got some rubbish sorted for the bin and the tip, and tried to tip out any stagnant water I could find lying in containers. Steve found some really foul smelling stuff yesterday, and I found some more today. All gone. Wonder how long our garden will be contaminated....

We decided to go to Gloucester docks anyway, which had been part of plan A, with Rosie. By the time we got there, via Staples and Aldi, the sun was nowhere to be seen, but we found a lively cafe, where I snapped these youngsters as we sat outside with our drinks. We had a stroll around, and I got some information about boat trips on the Gloucestershire and Sharpness canal for Rosie's next visit.

After watching a boat pass through the lock gates, we headed home, where I did more sorting out. I have some people coming over for a MacMillan Coffee morning and preview of my Christmas cards and accessories on Thursday. Let's just say I'm finding it necessary to move a few items of furniture! I don't really like having people in the house, unless they are old friends/family/massage clients who only see one room!

I think it all goes back to not having a lovely garden, and fearing I'll be judged. Stroudies are great gardeners. I'm more what you'd call Demolition Woman in the garden. Call me when you've a messy or difficult task, but don't ask me to take care of tender plants!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.