Red Flash

By RedFlash

Ideal Place

Quoting the website "The Chantry Centre is the hassle free place to shop in the heart of Andover and is home to the biggest range of shops and stores in the town, making it the ideal place for all your families shopping."

From previous day's blips you will know that Andover is a very old Market town. The addition of the shopping centre in the 1960s took away all some of its character.

Go large to see Thomas on his merry go round

History Lesson Part 5

During the 18th century, being situated on the main Exeter - Salisbury - London road Andover became a major stopping point on the stagecoach routes, more than 30 stagecoaches passing through the town each day. In 1789 a canal to Southampton was opened, though this was never a commercial success and closed in 1859. Andover was linked to Basingstoke and thus to London by railway when the Andover junction station was opened on 3 July 1854; this railway also linking the town to Salisbury. The town was also linked by railway to Southampton, built on the bed of the canal, but this was closed down in 1964. The land, together with the adjacent gasworks and P. M. Coombes woodyards, was then sold to the TSB Trust Company who later built their headquarters there. (That's the building that I have been working in)

The things that made me smile:

They must have been checking the security clearance of the ducks as I drove into work this morning, as the family blipped on 7 August were all filing out of the security hut

I can see the sky from where I am sitting (can't in London) and I watched some birds wheeling around in the blue sky.

Exercise: Walked into town and back. Danced on my bottom. Too tired for anything else

PS The blip of yesterday was my silver bangle ( I have tiny wrists and most bracelets are too big for me), two thumbs rings and my other ring. I prefer silver to gold. I only remove my thumb rings when I cycle, otherwise I can't change gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.