Journey Through Time

By Sue

Gold Medal

In keeping with the Olympics, I am putting up a rose called Gold Medal. I went to Orchards Park today and saw this rose and thought...well...ho ho, there's my blip for the day. But, I had to play in Picasa. The original image of this rose is in my blipfolio. I just thought the picasa version was kind of fun.

Cooler nights, cooler overcast mornings and warm afternoons now. Reminds me of when I helped a girlfriend pick green beans when I was about 14. Once upon a time anybody could go out and work the fields. In the summers many kids worked picking beans, strawberries, hops (well, my dad picked hops back in the 1920's -30's), etc to earn money for school clothes or what ever. I stayed with a friend of mine who had moved to the Eugene, Oregon area for a week and we'd get up early and go where the bus would pick up all the kids and take us to the field. Then we'd fill those buckets and we'd get paid by the weight. It seems to me that I helped her to earn her bonus. We'd start out wearing sweat shirts and end up with them tied around our waist as the day got hotter. I don't remember what I got out of the deal, except a lot of laughs and the experience because that was the one and only time I ever did that.

Hope you are all well, Blippers. See ya later..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.