Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Good Boy, Murphy!

My sweet, sweet little Scottie boy....

As I made sure Murphy had water, was nice and cool aand would be safe alone in the camper, memories hit me like a ton of bricks. Murphy had never spent time alone in the camper before.

Every time we left the camper, we always made sure both Angus and Murphy were fine, but with Angus passing away last October, Murphy was going to be all alone.

Would he be okay? Would he get into mischief? Would he bark and carry on?

I slowly closed the door and locked it, leaving my pup all alone inside.

When we arrived back at the camper after eleven, Murphy had been alone for about six hours. I opened the door and walked inside. I found Murphy stretched out on the bathroom floor, the rug crumpled beside him, along with his favorite toy...a splash ball! Obvoiusly the little fellow had been running up and down the length of the camper, chasing his ball!

We had to leave Murphy alone three more evenings and into the night and each night, he was asleep on the bed upon our return! He seemed to be enjoying this quiet alone time!

Today, while out for a little shopping, I picked up a bandana for my wee fellow. When I tied it around his neck, he looked so forlorn! One would have thought I had punished the pup from the look on his face!

We stopped for a little walk on the way back to the campground. I had Murphy pose with his new duds by the pretty flowers....

Such a good, good boy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.