The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Great Blue Heron

This morning the rain was coming down again. The parched feeling of the forests is slowly fading a bit and the plants are perking up. So am I. The rain feels sweet and good.

Arvin had to go down to the bottom of the driveway in a raincoat with an umbrella. It was pouring when the bus arrived. An hour or so later the clouds parted and some sun came through. I had buzzed around doing the things on my list and was at a good break point. So I took a walk in Whatcom Falls Park.

My plan was to head down toward the large bridge to see if Trish and the plein air painting group were there. As I walked the clouds reformed and it got darker and grayer. Soon I could hear the sound of rain in the trees above me. I hugged my cameras to me and found big evergreens to stand under when the rain got heavy. 

I found Trish and the painters established under a shelter busily drawing value studies preliminary to their paintings. It was pretty chilly and they were suited up. We chatted until the rain subsided again and then I headed back up the path toward home.

Both times I passed Scudder Pond this heron was there. On the way down he or she was standing on a wooden spike, probably the remainder of a tree, looking amazingly regal. I took a bunch of photos and this was my favorite. On the way home she had moved to a different part of the pond. Eventually she flew into a tree. Somehow I managed to miss her flight which took place in stages. I missed them all.

I got home in plenty of time to meet Arvin as he got home from group on the bus. Again the rains hit just as he arrived. We spent a nice quiet afternoon and evening together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.