Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Reed Warbler (Acrocephalus scirpaceus)

Another beautiful day in the West Midlands. I had an early walk along the disused canal near our home as mist had formed overnight.

Took a number of moody landscape shots but as was walking back a family of reed warblers caught my attention. For one moment I thought this was a Marsh Warbler but on reading up afterwards realised that the chances of it being this species were very rare (only 3-10 breeding pairs according to the RSPB).

Frustratingly he wouldn't perch on a reed but here he is on a small branch.

You may have noted I used the 500mm. I don't carry it around with me on walks as a rule (I'm not that fit or strong). I had to go back home and return with the right equipment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.