Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Effort - Extreme Macro Photography

Well you've got to start somewhere.

This is a hover fly feasting on the anther of a Lilly. It has been taken by using a reversing ring and attaching a 24mm manual focus lens onto the ring. Hand held shot, the lack of DOF is scary.

I'd really appreciate any advice from other blippers with expereince of this type of photography. I'm thinking tripod, focusing rail and flash so that I can shut down the lens to maximise the DOF. I doubt focus stacking is an option, but I may be wrong. This was probably shot at f/8 but with the lens being reversed there is no EXIF data to work on (even if the lens had a CPU).

This is practically full frame (4289 x 4289 pixels) and is way beyond 1:1 macro work. Some of the other shots had single grains of pollen visible, attached to the fly's proboscis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.