I thought...

...I would spare cailleach Charlie (the big spider) this wild wednesday. So I was looking for another subject. But something happened this morning. Popeye took a flying leap through the middle of Charlie's web....he hasn't been seen since. Time will tell...

So I turned my attention to Ermintrude, but alas she is a spider too although a tiny one and so is hard to photograph. I walked with my face bang into her web last Sunday, first thing in the morning. I felt sorry for her that I had wrecked her web but then I realised half of it was still there, so I managed to twist it round to the other side and put the other thread on a tall plant. So she had half a web. After her initial bewilderment, she set to recreating what was left of her web. The next day she built a new web between the same two tall plants, but it had a twist in it like a ballerina's skirt and looked beautiful as it was twirling in the wind. And since then she has built a ballerina tutu each day! So I named her Ermintrude! It should have been Margot Fonteyn :)

Anyway I had to go out and as I was driving I saw a postman walking ahead of me to the left. He has the blue shirt and red bag, but he was doing something strange (for a postman that is). He had his arms outstretched and was moving his body from side to side, just as a small child pretends to be an aeroplane...I was driving past him by this time and I could see he had earphones in and presumably was listening to music? Alas I could not get my phone out of my bag, and in any case I was driving and I had gone past him by this time.

So I am back home tonight and I need to do my daily pastel sky study (I set myself a goal of a sky a day for the forseeable future). Popeye follows me into the garage and is trying everything to stop me, like sitting on my pastels etc. I take him in the bungalow to feed him and get back in the garage and block the cat flap into the garage, but Houdini managed to get back in, tried the hanging on my bare legs routine (I was wearing shorts) and he was upset at my response. This pastel has cat prints on it, which I covered over, and then when I sat back down on my chair, it suddenly had acquired a very soft cushion on it. So the second pic is Popeye not talking to me now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.