A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

I shouldn't laugh but...

... I couldn't help myself!

My road has had a parking problem for years, I live near a railway station. Last year the local council changed the one hour restrictions across the road from 11am - 12noon to 8am - 9am. 

They said it was to help the local shopkeepers to park. It doesn't as they need to be parked before 9am. The restriction is to stop all day parking by commuters. This doesn't happen and here's why:

For the past year the 8am start to the restriction has been too early for the wardens. They have never attended the street before 9am all year. This has been cottoned on my commuters who wantonly parked there all day often turning up before 8am.

One car in particular has been a constant offender, a BMW. So much so the owner sits in his car until 8am then leaves it. Yesterday the wardens turned up and ticketed 10 cars but not the BMW, it wasn't there! Either a day off or he saw the tickets.

This morning the street was empty, except for the BMW. He must have thought everyone else was on holiday. What will surprise him (and me) is the wardens returned again today, result... 

I can get out of my drive without too much trouble now.

I continue to clear my rented garage, nearly done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.