A Hornet, Thankfully No Yellow Socks

Careful what one wishes for. I said last week that I was hoping to get a close-up of a hornet on the ivy which was coming into flower. I saw one last year terrorising the wasps but couldn't get a decent pic.

I got my hornet mimic yesterday and the newly arrived Asian hornet has half a page in this morning's paper. I learnt something from that article. Evidently our European hornets fly mostly at night. That will explain why we have twice had to eject the insects from Jazzy's laundry room bedroom when tucking her up for the night.

The ivy was buzzing beautifully again today. I've photographed lots of different hoverflies, flies, wasps, bees and butterflies on it and think I might make a collage.

We found this poor groggy hornet on the floor in the laundry room. I scooped it up on a piece of newspaper and took it outside. I photographed it concentrating on its face then took it and put it under the hedge. It made me quite sad to see from my pics that it has one leg missing and two with the lower part broken off. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.