horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Mel the Mini bad influence

Last Friday, as we walked down Market Street to dinner at the Chop House, I saw a cracking little orange Mini. I took out the phone to take a photo of it before I'd even seen the 'for sale' note in the window. Mel reckoned I should call to find out how much he was after for it.

We've talked for a while about getting a 'classic', and while this 1991 car doesn't really fall into that bracket, it would be a start, and an original style Mini has been on the list of possibles ever since we did the Italian Job Rally 10 odd years ago. While we enjoyed the comforts of the modern version, the folk in the small forebear just seemed to be having an utter ball.

So anyway, I called, and... the price is doable. It was originally a Mini Neon, but has had the 1275 engine dropped in, and has been completely updated (I love the running lights being a circle of LEDs around the main headlight). All done for a 17 year old to have as her first car, then she decided she wanted a convertible... Anyway, a number of years later and the car has found its way to Penicuik, and I'll hopefully be going to see it soon to give it the once over (and have already measured the garage).

It'll be really disappointing if I take it for a spin and it's rubbish...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.