Aston Martin Visit

I had the pleasure today of tagging along with a group from a club which my Dad attends, for a visit to the Aston Martin Workshop near Beamish, County Durham.

This large workshop complex was started many years ago by a local farmer who restored an Aston for himself, and subsequently decided to make a living doing this over and over again. I understand that the company is not part of Aston Martin itself but works on Astons from all over the world. They also now work on Maseratis, Morgans, MGs and even a Rolls Royce.

It was great to see such an enthusiastic and friendly team of engineers who clearly love their job. They took us round the whole site and I took over 100 photos.

Choosing my blip was tricky, and in the end I chose 3 photos. The main blip is a beautifully restored engine with 3 large SU carburettors adorned with K&N filters. The first extra is one of the cars they've just started work on - quite a mess! The second blip is part of the showroom where you can see the fabulous finished products.

Regrettably they weren't giving away cars to the visitors(!) and neither could I afford one...but we did finish off with a very nice lunch at the local pub - owned by the workshop I believe (although even the lunch wasn't free!).

Altogether a fascinating & enjoyable visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.