Scribbler too

By scribbler2

Rick Bartow's last painting

Photographed at Froelick Gallery, Portland OR.

Rick Bartow died in April 2016. He worked right up to the end of his life. I couldn't get enough of his paintings. I followed his work for years. Whenever there was a new show at Froelick, I went several times during the month it was up. 

Sept. 17 is a special anniversary for me. I spent it at the gallery because Charles Froelick gave a talk on the life and work of Rick Bartow. It was spellbinding. The front room of the gallery was jampacked with people, including artists and art professors. It was a powerful experience to listen to stories about Rick while surrounded by his work. It was as though he were there with us. Maybe he was. 

Rick Bartow's work had presence. It spoke to the heart. It held power. It healed him as he made it, and viewing it in some way heals me. This very last painting Rick made is as good an example as any. 

Click on the RickBartow tag for more images and information from scribbler about this remarkable Native American artist.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.