Pride of Madeira

Every year these large bushes put on a great showing in late winter/early spring. The dry conditions on the hill must really suit them. I'm enjoying them more this year, now I'm back in the house. I thought I'd take a close up, and make the flowers fit the whole frame. Just for fun!

They're 'properly' known as echium candicans. They're  a species of flowering plant in the family of Boraginaceae, native to the island of Madeira. I'm guessing they're related to another plant that's sometimes a garden-breakout in New Zealand; borage.

I had someone from a real-estate firm visit today, to give me an idea of what my house/property would be worth now. There are a lot of people shifting out of the neighbourhood at present, as their houses have been either repaired or rebuilt, so it's a good time to get an assessment. I'm not making plans - just exploring my options. The thought of moving out, when I've just moved back in, is definitely not on the agenda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.