Nostalgia

Decided to go to my school reunion today....first time since I left (many years ago!). Weirdly familiar building-especially the library (with its carved mice on all the oak furniture-extra-http://www.robertthompsons.co.uk/_shop/classic-items/?gclid=Cj0KEQjwyJi_BRDLusby7_S7z-IBEiQAwCVvn954DRBYLelq_RP9GQ3tKvOWrpSBrIh2zvvd3MufnXUaAv7z8P8HAQ#?source=google ), the domestic science room (extra-now an art room but still very familiar!), the gym (same benches, wall bars and beams-hated all that!), the hall with stage that I was only ever on once - when I had my hair dramatically cut by a hairdresser called Anton. He lifted up my long hair and cut most of it off in one go. I had no mirror but from the shocked faces of the girls in the room I realised it was going to be quite a sight. Interestingly two women there today who were younger than me remembered seeing it happen!
We sat and talked and reminisced for a couple of hours then took a tour around (funny how things like the pattern of tiles on the floor, the library clock and the studs on the stair banisters held very Proustian memories).
Back to S's house then L came round for a take away and movie. We three have been together from the entrance exam onwards... seems like yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.