WANT TO BUY A DEFUNCT LOO?

Underneath the glass roof in my shot are Newcastle's Bigg Market underground toilets which have been a fixture in the city centre since they were built in 1898. They closed in April of this year.

Now council chiefs are putting these historic toilets up for sale. Inside the famous site are 18 urinals, five cubicles, a cupboard and tiled walls and floor. The toilet has one entrance and is reached by a staircase. It has a metal framed domed glass roof with ventilation tower and is surrounded by walled railings. It's expected the subterranean structure will fetch thousands and could be transformed into a shop, bar, takeaway or even an art gallery. Who knew a Gents could be so interesting.

I went with Neil to Newcastle today. We had a lovely lunch in Strada then went our separate ways. Neil went to St James Park to take a photograph of the statue of Sir Bobby Robson as he hadn't seen it before and then he made his way down to the Quayside to take photos of the Olympic Rings on the Tyne Bridge.

I did some shopping and also went to the Travel Centre to hand in my application form for a pensioners pass for free bus travel. Had to have my photo taken - it didn't come out too bad. I will get my pass on 6th September - and my State Pension will start then too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.